About Me

My photo
Fun, Love, Laughter, the joys of being a thirty something newlywed as I fight the battle of the bulge while trying to start a family and build a successful career!
Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts
Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts

Saturday, December 17, 2011

My Week - I want my energy back!!

I have been re-reading Dr John Tickell's book "The Great Australian Diet 2" and have decided that once all the fanfare of the festive season is over that I will give it a red hot shot.

Now in saying this I realise that:
  1.  I'm not very good at hugely dramatic changes, and 
  2.  Two weeks before Christmas is not really the ideal time to be overhauling ones eating habits.
So what I have done is start to incorporate some of Dr John's suggestion into my eating.

I really like his idea of eating less foods that are high in HI (Human Interference). With this in mind I have stocked up on fruit and veg and everytime I want a lolly or a biscuit I have a few bit size pieces of fruit. I have been making some sensational smoothies for breakfast in addition to a piece of toast and a poached egg - I'll have mine extra soft please!

Lunch has been chicken and salad, but I make my own dressing - something different everyday and NO chemicals!!  Dinner is veg or salad and a small piece of meat. Though we treated ourselves to sushi the other night. And I have had a glass of wine here and there though I find myself feeling more like a run instead!!

We ae doggie sitting so its been fairly easy to get in a couple of walks everyday!

I definitely noticed that I had more energy earlier in the week; which is great because my job has just become a hell of a lot more hectic (I love it), my self-esteem has improved (no more depressing thoughts), I'm craving healthy food, not junk and I am having some strange dreams - usually loosely based on something I have seen on the news (I EVEN had one where I was having sex with my husband!!).

However yesterday and today I feel like I am hungover, despite having hardly anything to drink. Last night I was in bed until 7.30pm and slept through till 6am! Very unusual as I'm a 7 to 8 hour tops kind of girl!!  I just feel tired, I want to do stuff but am really struggling to haul my ass of the couch!!

I hope its just my body getting used to this new routine and not something more sinister! I want my energy back!

Monday, May 23, 2011

I Have a Sore Foot!



I have a sore foot!

I mentioned it to a couple of people and didn't think very much of it, because it sort of came and went. It's weird because it hurts more when I walk after being in bed (hmmmm bed) or sitting for a while.

That combined with a cold (boo hoo) has put me off walking lately!

This weekend it seemed to get worse, so I thought I had better get myself off to the doc.

He had me diagnosed within a minute! What a relief to know its not vascular, as I thought.  But what a bloody pain.

So what is Planter Fasciitis you ask? Good question!  Its an inflammation of the Planter Fascia tendon which holds your foot together from the heel to the ball that results from overpronation, tight calves and achilles or "poor foot biomechanics, age or weight gain".

The treatments are wide and varied and I am really disppointed to say that one of them is rest - disppointed because I need to start my long walks again soon...before I get too comfy in my trackie daks. I have tracked down some exercises to help make my Fascia more flexible - sounds good doesn't it and hope to be back in action in no time!

Wish me luck!

Monday, May 2, 2011

I'm a Piglet!!



FAR OUT!!!

I have pigged out this weekend!

It's not that I lost control - ok well maybe a little bit.

Let's have a look:

Friday Night  - pizza, sausage rolls, drank a bottle of wine and some Baileys! 
Saturday Morning - same as above minus the wine and Baileys - of course!!
Saturday Afternoon - mini custard tarts and half a large bag of chips,
Saturday Night - Sweet & Sour MSG from the local Chinese takeaway and ice-cream!
Sunday Morning - started ok with eggs on toast and cups of tea.
Sunday Lunch - McDonald's Cheeseburger meal.
Sunday Afternoon - 3/4 packet of chocolate biscuits, more custard tarts and a slice of pizza!

It doesn't look good does it?

You know what?  I actually enjoyed it!! Well, up until that slice of pizza! the I had that horrible stoggy, too full feeling!!

But I don't feel guilty and I know I can get back on track starting today!  I look back on what I ate and think how much I enjoyed it going in, but I know that I won't be doing it again today! 

I know that I have changed, that I can't eat like that all the time anymore, without paying the price.

Today I am going to eat fruit and veg, protein and drink only water!  I am going to go for a walk, do some uni work and move as much as I can!

What are you going to do to recover from any damage you might have done?

Image found at http://queelque.tumblr.com/post/681829414/teacup-pig-in-wellies

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

I'm Ba-ack!!!

Hi Everyone,

Just a quick one to let you know that I'm ba-ack.  Well actually, I'm still around...I have been lurking...keeping tabs on my favourite bloggers!

Hopefully you will see from my ticker that my weight loss is still going in the right direction and while double figures still allude me I'm just happy the numbers are going down.  Even though its not as fast as I'd like on the scales I can definitely notice it in my clothes and have been wearing some that have been haunting my wardrobe for years!!

My trick has been to keep exercising and increasing the intensity as I find it get easier.  So that means my walking is featuring lots of hills and squats, lunges, and tummy work when I get home.  Food wise, I've cut out the crap and keep my portion sizes down, but I allow myself my faves (chips and choc) at least once a week. In terms of drinking my new rule is that I can only have a wine or two on the days that I exercise!

So all in all I am pretty pleased as I have quit ww (more on that in another post) and was a bit worried that I might go the other way! I just keep telling myself that I can't let myself do, that I deserve more than that and remind myself how sh**ty I felt - almost 15 kgs ago!! No way am I going back there!

It's good to be back beautiful people and I look forward to catching up with you all soon xxx

Saturday, January 8, 2011

I'm So Excited...and I Just Can't Hide It!!

Happy Weekend Everyone!

I just wanted to share a few things that I have done over the last few days that have given me a real buzz!

1. I've booked in for a workshop run by my favourite motivational website host Craig Harper called "Stop F*cking Around" , its on the 12th of Feb which is ideal timing for me as I'm finishing work at the end of Jan!!  Fellow Queenslanders if you want to go the early bird special ends today so get in quick!!

2. I've started running again, well interval training using Podrunner Intervals so I can work my way up to 5kms.  Even though I hadn't reached the weight loss goal that I had in mind I bought a new pair of shoes anyway - I deserve them and they are awesome (just like me!!) I hope you like them!




3. I've started telling people at work (the ones who I don't want to hear it on the grapevine) that I am leaving, while I do have moments of serious self-doubt, being able to verbalise the reasons why is so amzingly powerful.  Of course I have talked to my man and friends about it but its really only those people who experience the same frustrations that can fully understand and reinforce that I am doing the right thing!

4. I only gained 300g over the holiday period!! Stoked!!

5. I managed to get some washing dry!!

So I figure that as I get my health and weight heading in the right direction, my confidence and energy are going to soar and with the help of the workshop I believe that 2011 is going to be the start of an amazing and awesome life for me!!!

Who wants to come for the ride??

Saturday, December 4, 2010

The Longest Journey in WW History



Sometimes, especially on days like today, I feel like my weight loss journey must be the longest in weight watchers history! It has taken me since February 2010 to lose 12.1 kilos! i can't help but think that I should be down at least 20 kilos more than this.

Yeah you guessed it - I gained again! A kilo this time.

I know that I didn't exercise enough - that was weather driven, but I need to get over that and find some alternatives!  I know that I drank too much alcohol and ate too much crap, actually I ate too much in general.

Sometimes I think that I don't take this commitment to myself seriously enough, that I get too caught up in a moment or evening and stop thinking about what is going into my mouth.

Don't get me wrong I'm not down on myself, I'm still pretty proud of what I have achieved thus far and I do feel good.

I need to refocus again - set some new goals - health and otherwise.  I need some encouragement and most of all I just need to get back to basics.  Write my menu plan in advance each week, keep up the running and kick this 15 kilo goal in the butt!!

But most of all I have to keep believing that I am bloody well worth it!!

Image from - http://www.freeimages.co.uk/galleries/backdrops/moods_emotions/slides/long_road_journeyP1011607.htm

Thursday, November 25, 2010

I Did It!!

I did IT!!

I got up this morning (obviously) and hit the pavement with my venture into the land jogging...I don't lift my feet enough to call it a run!

I had a later start at work this morning due to an appointment which helped as I really would have procrastinated had I had to get up at 5.15am.

Yes it hurt, yes I struggled but I just keep powering on  and before I knew it was over. Yes my bum jiggled and got a weird, tingling feeling!! Maybe coz the blood was pumping through all my layers of lusciousness

 And right now I feel amazing!

I feel proud of the fact that I DID IT! And of course the endorphins are flowing through me!! AND a friend just sms'd me to tell me she saw me walking to the office and that I looked awesome!!

Going to weigh in tonight, I kind of swing between Thursday's and Saturday's, but am feeling confident I will get a good result despite only having 5 days in between.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

I Want to Run - Update!!

Following the advice and encouragement that I received yesterday, I have downloaded PodRunner Intervals and am planning on starting the First Day to 5K course tomorrow (I'm a bit stiff this morning from squats and lunges yesterday and basically wanted a sleep in).

I am worried about shoes because I do over-pronate and this cause excruiating shin splints, but I figure I will give Week 1 a go in the morning and weigh-in tomorrow night.  Who knows I might actually achieve that 15 kilo goal - well I will at leasdt be a step closer to it.

I'm also apprehensive because I can't remember doing serious running on a foot path ever, treadmills give you that little bit of bounce - but the catch is it actually means you don't work as hard.  We have a cricket ground fairly close by, I think I'll head there and get used to doing it on grass first.

Any other advice greatly welcome!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

I Want To Run!

I want to Run!

I can feel that my fitness has improved and simply walking, while I do feel good I don't get that "buzz" anymore. My body has become used to it.

I want to Run!

But I keep coming up with excuses.

My sneakers are old and badly need replacing but I have promised myself new sneakers as my reward for losing 15 kigs (when I get there). At the moment that milestone is alluding me!

I actually don't think  it would be safe to run in my sneakers in their current state - at least not on the foot path anyway, they would be ok on a treadmill but I don't have one nor do I have a gym membership (anymore).

I stayed the same at weigh in this week - so I have 2.4 kgs to be rid of before 15 are gone forever.

I think I'll keep walking for now, keep eating well and see what the scales say later in the week!

I want to RUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNNNNNN!!!!!

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Singing My Own Praises!



I have been so good this week!

I have crawled out of bed at 5.15-5.30am and taken myself on a 30-40 minutes four times already this week! My mission is 6 mornings!

I feel fantastic! And my eneregy seems to last all day!

My eating hasn't been too shabby either....AND not a drop of alcohol! (the pic is from a party a couple of years ago - can you believe there were 3 other ladies wearing the same dress as me tres embarassing!)

Come on weight loss gods you have to shine on me this week ;-)

PS - Come on guys help Lucy get 50 links on her wonderful Fat to Fit Blog hop!!

Friday, September 17, 2010

Eye of the Tiger!



I feel like Rocky tonight!

Because tonight I fought some major demons.

You know the ones...

Like the one that tell you not to go for a walk, to go straight home and worry about it tomorrow!  The other one was trying to tell me not to worry about cooking dinner tonight, it's Friday, you're supposed to have takeaway!

BACK OFF!!

I said and went for one of my best ever walks....oh and by the way, slipped a wee bit of running too!

BACK OFF!!

I said again and cooked up chicken and vegies instead of piling up on fish and chips.

At the shops another Demon tried it on..."mmmm should get some chocolate for dessert its 3 bars for $5 - cheap as". You know what....I walked away with my chicken and cat food and had the loveliest dinner, I feel deliciously sleepy  from my run/walk and rather chuffed with myself and the decision I made tonight!!

I'm just a girl and her will to survive!!

Friday, September 3, 2010

Friday Foughts (Thoughts)!!

I really like this guy...Craig Harper!! I don't often comment on his blogs but I always read them and goddammit he always makes sense.

Have a read of his post today...Craig Harper....I have fallen into this trap a few times, couldn't exercise without my ipod, fancy food and supplements etc, but now I just try to keep it simple.  I get my protein from natural sources, I walk and move as much as I can and I've cancelled my dusty gym  membership.

I like him because he's an Aussie and he speaks with that Aussie no bullshit approach.  I think he genuinely cares about improving the lives of others.

I'm not big into seminars and alike, but I am keen to do one of his if he comes to Bris Vegas!

Have a read and let me know what you think about getting back to basics!

Monday, August 30, 2010

Focus is NOT a Four Letter Word!

I have chosen five things to focus on health wise this week:

1. Staying withing my points allowance

2. Not drinking alcohol

3. Exercising 3 - 4 times this week

4. Listening to Think Slim and reporting in at the end of the week

5. Replacing black tea with green tea - not green tea kit-kats


WTF???

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Help Needed - Musically Challenged!

Happy Sunday Everyone! What a fantastic day it is - Spring is definitely just around the corner!

I spent last night completely revamping my iTunes library (due to a wine mishap with my old laptop I lost everything) and have downloaded my usual favourites.

Now I need your help and assistance in finding more music to motivate me while exercising!

So do tell... What gets you into the groove?  Cheesey pop, rock, eighties classic's?

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Danger Danger High Voltage!

I woke up to a beautiful sunny BrisVegas morning and decided I go for a walk around the block...my usual route takes about 30 minutes normally so I tacked on what I thought would be another 20 minutes.

About ten minutes in I started suffering excrutiating shin splints but I was determined to keep going and walk for an hour (or as close to as possible)... I turned up my ipod in order to silence my screaming shins and concentrated on shaking it all night long with ACDC (yes I'm a bogan at heart), pouring some sugar on me with Def Leppard, living it up with Mental as Anything and Superstylin' with Groove Armada.



Before I knew it I was back at home and I'd only been gone for 35 minutes - no wonder my shins were crying I must have been bloody powering it. Then something weird happened...I started doing lunges, squats, sit-ups and curls - WHO IS THIS PERSON?? I'M OUT OF CONTROL!!!!

Oh and -yeah, we went to vote and of course the token sausage sizzle was there - it smelt sooooooooo good and I bought lovely boyfriend one, but I declined! A man we were chatting to even commented and I said "I'm watching what I eat", he said he does too...watches it go in his mouth...lol!

As I sit here writing I am wondering has something finally clicked, is thing weight loss/health gig finally sinking into my subconscious?  Am I finally able to make good decisions without the battle in my head? Are the changes here for good?

PS - How corny is this - I got goosebumps at the polling booth, it almost made me a little teary, watching all the different people I couldn't help but think this is really the only time the whole nation comes together to take action and really make a difference!

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Wishy Washy

I have been very wishy washy with my weight loss efforts this week which means I'm not sure how weigh in is going to go.

I'm putting it down to my awesome and busy weekend, because I didn't make time to plan my menu and exercise for this week!

I've only exercised a couple of times - walking and a bike ride (is a public holiday today so we jumped on and went for a ride by the water this morning), but my eating hasn't been great. We went to dinner and then a party last night....even though I was full from dinner, I kept picking at the chips...normally I would try and stay as far away as possible from them, but it was a party where I didn't know anyone so safely stayed in one spot!

Oh well onwards and upwards - I know what I need to and think I will weigh-in on Saturday again as this gives me a couple of days to make amends as well as means I have a full week between weigh-ins (I normally go on Thursday, but didn't last week).

Saturday, July 31, 2010

It's a Beautiful Day!

It was a beautiful morning here in Brisbane and can you believe that it 27 degrees! 27 in July!! Woo-hoo!

I couldn't convince my lovely boyfriend to have a sickie today but he did take me out for breakfast. We sat with our eggs and vegies, hollandaise on the side looking out onto the spectacular Manly Marina and went for a walk to soak in some rays and fresh air!

I forgot take my camera with me today. But I do have some piccies from one of my walks earlier in the week.

These are taken around the Teneriffe river walk in Brisbane! Another great area for exercise! God I love this city!







I was trying to capture the row of lights but my camera is ancient and it was extremely windy! I like the effect that I ended up with though!



This post wouldn't be complete with a nice very close up of me! (I hope you can't see any boogas!!)

Monday, July 26, 2010

My Focus

Hi Everyone,

Monday morning is here and I thought that I'd quickly put my goals and focus for this week into cyberspace before I start work.

My focus is to lose at least 400g to take me to the the 10 kg mark.

I am in no way expecting a loss a big as last week's 3 kg (I just had top say it again) but I am determined to not gain any of it back.

My menu plan is set at 21 points per day, saving 2 each day for wiggle room (you know, in case I need a little extra).

As for exercise, I didn't do any except for housework and ironing (Diminishing Lucy you read right - I've taken a leaf out of your book after reading how nice and easier it is to do it all at once) over the weekend. But am getting myself into gear as of today.  See list to the right!

Love to you all xx

PS - I watched "My Life in Ruins" yesterday (while ironing) - great feel good flick!! Highly recommend it!

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Baby did a bad bad thing!


Confession Time - I didn't track, I didn't exercise and I put on the kilo that it took me four weeks to lose ;-(

Here are the reasons - my back is screwed, the early part of the week saw me in excrutiating pain because I have a twisted pelvis and twisted vertebrae (which are being treated), I felt completely off kilter and didn't do any planning. Also my future mother in law was staying and she had to test out the kitchen by cooking us lovely comfort food!

Anyway I'm back on track and mostly pain free, so have my menu and exercise plan sorted already.

Exercise plan is as follows:

Today - Pilates (I need some core strength)
Sunday - Walk or cycle
Monday - Body Balance (more core strength and stretching)
Tuesday - Remedial Massage
Wednesday - Walk 6.5 kms
Thursday - Walk 6.5 kms
Friday - Body Balance

I'm confident that all the exercise and a clear eating plan will see me lose it quickly! And if I do I think I need a little reward! Maybe an Outrageous Fortune DVD or new motivational book!

Sunday, July 4, 2010

Sunday in Pictures

It was a glorious winter's day here in Brisbane today and I had to get out and amongst it. I have a feeling I'll be working late tomorrow and won't get my walk in so thought I'd go for a ride today. The tyres on my bike are flat so I took lovely boyfriend's out on the Moretan Bay Cycleway! Look out pedestrians!


Here are some shots of the great views!



I had to tackle this narrow bridge!! I was a bit wobbly let me tell you!


I got home and could snack on the delicious muffins I made this morning - only 2 points each!!


LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails