About Me

My photo
Fun, Love, Laughter, the joys of being a thirty something newlywed as I fight the battle of the bulge while trying to start a family and build a successful career!
Showing posts with label winning. Show all posts
Showing posts with label winning. Show all posts

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Putting It Out There!

After my last post I came to the realisation that I currently need to focus on one thing at a time and decided that that one thing at the moment, should be uni because I have a few assignments due in the next few weeks and a trip to New Zealand in the middle of it.

I had applied for a few roles last week (Communication and PR) and with one I took a chance and wrote a fantastically creative cover letter.

Low and behold I received a phone call today inviting me to an interview for that very role on Monday!!

I am stoked!

I am shitting myself!!

But you know what most of all I'm proud! I'm proud of putting myself out there, of getting the ball rolling and the energy happening!!

And things are happening!!

On my walk after work today I saw a slightly weird looking couple, its a crazy neighborhood where I walk (Valley for you Brisbanites) but I smiled at them anyway.  The man called me over, I thought to ask directions..but this is what he said...

"You look like a really great girl, you look someone who is going to make things happening and you should go hard!!"

I was stunned, but I said Thanks and told him he'd really made my day!!

Some people may think he's crazy (he certainly looked it), but I think.....

What if he's right???

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Everybody's Talkin' bout it!

The draw in yesterday's AFL Grand Final (Australian Rules Football - for my international readers) and the impending re-match next weekend.

For the purposes of disclosure I must inform you that I am a (dare I say it) Collingwood supporter (we're the ones everybody loves to hate).

Everyone is talking about how disappointing it was that niether team walked away with a win or a loss and that the League needs to change the rules and so on.

I can't help but think that yesterday's result is a fantastic example of damn good ball playing, two teams of equal strength and ability played so well that a clear result couldn't be determined. the re-match rule might be a bit iffy, but geez what a superb game it was to watch!

I think the disappointment lays in the fact that people just don't know how to react and feel in this situation, there is no guidance...from a young age we are taught that's its all about winning or losing - that is despite all the cliche's that indicate the opposite.  Let's be honest no-one wants to feel that losing feeling, we want to feel that winning feeling.

But what about the feeling that comes when you know that you (or your team) have done your/their absolute best on the day! That sense of pride of knowing that you were completely physically and mentally prepared, that there was nothing else you could do!

I think all of those men involved in yesterday's game should be extremely proud of themselves and embrace the chance to try-again! How often in life do we get the chance to re-match, to correct our mistakes, to prepare just that little bit more?  How often do we get to take the taste of disappointment and turn it into something sweet!!  What about looking forward to the feeling that the winner will feel next week, knowing they have hard to work twice as hard for the glory!!

What do you wish you could do over, given the chance?

Love Andrea xx

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails